Chipper Explodes on Umpires

Chipper Jones had some harsh comments about yesterday’s home plate umpire during the Braves/Phillies game, which included only six strikeouts by Braves hitters (one was a pitcher to be fair).

“The first pitch to me with the bases loaded was in my batter’s box, inside,” Jones told reporters after the game. “Now you tell me how I’m supposed to hit that. We have to get Questec here in this ballpark. We’ve got to. Umpires have got to be held accountable. That’s Little League World Series stuff right there.”

“It’s a joke,” Jones said. “I’m tired of it. And baseball can fine me whatever they want. I do not care. Somebody’s got to say something. I’ve got more walks than strikeouts in my career — I know what a strike looks like.”

“You’re going to see frustration from now on as long as the officiating is abysmal,” he said. “Major League Baseball ought to be ashamed. It’s abysmal. It’s awful. Not all of them but some of them. It’s awful.”

I think it’s fair to assume he will be fined any day now.

Leave a Reply

