Federer Continues Domination over Roddick

Roger Federer advanced to his fourth straight U.S. Open semifinal last night (this morning), beating Andy Roddick in straight sets 7-6 (5), 7-6 (4), 6-2. The loss for Roddick clinches a non-American final four at the Open for the first time since 1989 in the men’s bracket.

“I’m not walking off with any questions in my head this time,” said Roddick after the match. “I’m not walking with my head down. I played my ass off out there tonight. I played the right way. So, you know, it helps, but that doesn’t mean I can’t be pissed off.”

With the win, Federer extended his dominating record against Roddick to 14-1. Roddick’s lone win against Federer was back in 2003 and he has been utterly dominated since.

“If I feel sorry for myself, I’m a real asshole,” Roddick said. “Honestly, I get to play in atmospheres like that. You know, I get a lot of opportunities. I’m very lucky. If I start feeling sorry for myself I need a serious sense of perspective.”

Despite a plethora of serves surpassing 140mph on the gun from Roddick, he was out-aced by Federer 15 to 14. The serving advantage that usually sweeps Roddick deep into tournaments has seemingly been made moot by Federer, who consistently gets rackets on the high-powered serves.

Federer will next face Nikolay Davydenko for a chance at his fourth straight final.

The good news for American fans came earlier in the night, when Venus Williams defeated #3 ranked Jelena Jankovic 4-6, 6-1, 7-6 (4) to return to the semifinals at the Open for the first time since 2002. She will next face the #1 ranked player in the world Justin Henin.

Leave a Reply

