Oden is Out

ESPN.com is now reporting that Greg Oden underwent microsfracture surgery today to fix his ailing right knee.

“Greg had an arthroscopy and a microfracture surgery today,” said team physician Dr. Don Roberts, who performed the surgery. “He was found to have articular cartilage damage in his right knee. The area of injury was not large and we were able to treat it with microfracture, which stimulates the growth of cartilage.”

Though Oden will be on crutches for up to eight weeks, a full rehabilitation usually takes between six and 12 months. Oden described the situation with his knee on his blog:

“On my vacation earlier this summer i got up off the couch and remember my knee having a sharp pain in it. That was about a month ago. I didn’t tell anyone because i didn’t want to seem like i was complaining or making excuses for anything. Plus i wasn’t doing anything at the time i realized it hurt, so i figured it couldn’t be anything big.

“After a couple of weeks, i had to finally tell someone so i went to St. Vincent’s Sports Performance (where i worked out at before draft) and got my knee looked at. That was right before i moved to Portland for good. My knee was swollen since i was there. I finally just said that i need to tell my trainer because this is not normal. We went to the doctor’s the next day to get a MRI and that night me and my mom ended up in the doctor’s office being told that I have to get surgery. It’s a light one, just a scoop, but still it’s just another setback. I would like for me to be playing and not seem like i’m a high-maintenance player, but things just keep popping up.”

Other players who have had the microfracture surgery include Jason Kidd, Zach Randolph, Allan Houston, Penny Hardaway, Jamal Mashburn and Amare Stoudemire.

Leave a Reply

