Randolph Trade Looking Even Better for Blazers

With the announcement that Greg Oden would be lost for the 2007-08 season following microfracture surgery today, the Portland Trail Blazers were ecstatic at the possibility of another high pick at next year’s draft. After trading leading scorer and rebounder Zach Randolph to the New York Knicks for Steve Francis and Channing Frye, it appeared that the front court would revolve around Oden for the future. Now, it looks like they will have to wait a year.

“Sure it’s a bummer that we lost Greg for the year, but at least we should be drafting high enough next year to get another outstanding pick,” said Portland GM Kevin Pritchard. “If I were looking for a way to clinch a higher draft pick, you can’t tell me that you’d rather have Zach Randolph than Channing Frye. Have you seen Frye play? He stinks! It’s going to be great!”

Brandon Roy will have to take over a majority of the scoring this season, but it seems he is looking forward to the challenge. “Do I think I am going to be better this year than last? Absolutely. Do you know how many shots I missed out on because Zach was always posting up and scoring down low? Now I know I will get more shots. As soon as Chandro goes up for a shot, it will be blocked right back to me for an open trey. It’s gonna be money!”

#2 overall pick Kevin Durant was pretty cordial in his response to the news; “I feel bad for Greg but…I told you they should have picked me! HAHAHAHAHA.”

Leave a Reply

