Matrix Thinks It’s Time To Go

Shawn Marion has stated in a phone interview with the Arizona Republic that he is tired of hearing his name in persistent trade rumors and that he is ready to be traded out of Phoenix.

“I’m tired of hearing my name in trades,” Marion said Tuesday night. “I love my fans in Phoenix but I think it’s time for me to move on.”

Marion followed up his statement to Sportingnews.com that he would like to be traded to the Los Angeles Lakers, who have been involved in trade rumors for Marion for quite some time. It appears that a three-way deal could be put in place also involving the Utah Jazz, probably sending disgruntled forward Andrei Kirilenko to Phoenix and at least Lamar Odom to Utah.

“You have a great organization, great ownership there with the Lakers. I don’t see no problems with playing there,” he told the Web site.

“Regardless of everything that went on with the extension, I’m tired of hearing my name in trade rumors,” Marion said. “It’s time for me to move on. I felt like they tried to force my hand to Boston with the Garnett stuff. I haven’t done anything wrong. I leave it on the floor night in and night out. Sometimes, it’s just time, and it’s time to go. It’s been like a nightmare. It hurts me making this phone call. It’s hurting me in my stomach.”

Marion, who is the Suns highest paid player, has two years remaining on his contract. His desire to play with Kobe Bryant is obvious after watching what Bryant was able to do with Team USA in this summer’s FIBA Americas Championship.

Marion averaged 17.5 points, 9.8 rebounds, 1.95 steals and 1.53 blocks last season.

Leave a Reply

