Sabathia Wins Cy Young Causing Riots in Red Socks Nation

Cleveland Indians ace C.C. Sabathia was awarded the American League Cy Young Award today as the best regular season pitcher for 2007. Sabathia finished with a comfortable lead over Boston Red Socks pitcher Josh Beckett and Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim pitcher John Lackey.

Sabathia went 19-7 with a 3.21 ERA and 209 strikeouts, while pitching a major league-high 241 innings. He finished one win short of Josh Beckett, but had more strikeouts and innings pitched and had a lower ERA than the Red Socks ace.

Beckett was clearly the better pitcher in the post-season, as he carried his team to a World Series victory, which included beating Sabathia twice in the ALCS. Voting was done one day after the regular season, which is why Sabathia won the award.

Behind Sabathia, Beckett and Lackey were Fausto Carmona, Erik Bedard, Roy Halladay, Johan Santana and Justin Verlander.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: