Melo To Start All-Star Game. What?

The voting for this year’s NBA All Star game has finally come to an end and thanks to a voting rally during the last week, the Denver Nuggets will have two starters in the game. Carmelo Anthony and Allen Iverson will be representing the Nuggets in the starting lineup, along with Houston Rockets center Yao Ming, Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant and San Antonio Spurs forward Tim Duncan. Iverson needed a fury of votes towards the end to pass Houston guard Tracy McGrady, who has missed most of the first half of the season with injuries.

Kevin Garnett led all vote-getters to earn a starting spot on the Eastern Conference team. Garnett was traded to the Boston Celtics this past off-season and has played for the Western Conference all-stars ten times in his career. Joining the Celtics star is center Dwight Howard from the Orlando Magic, Cleveland Cavaliers forward LeBron James, Miami Heat guard Dwyane Wade and New Jersey Nets guard Jason Kidd.

Though there are always all-star snubs once the bench players are announced, this year may have more than ever for the Western Conference. Fighting for the two reserve guard spots will be Steve Nash, Deron Williams, Brandon Roy, Baron Davis, Tony Parker, Chris Paul, and Manu Ginobili. In my mind, Chris Paul and Steve Nash are the easy choices, with Roy and Davis as perfect compliments for the two flex spots that each coach has.

Unfortunately voters got the starters wrong again when they voted Carmelo Anthony in. Similar to Tracy McGrady, Melo simply gets votes because he is popular, not because he deserves to be among the five best players in the Western Conference. Shawn Marion certainly deserves the small forward spot over Anthony, but because Melo is a Michael Jordan brand player, he gets the votes. Dirk Nowtizki is also a tough snub for the starter spot, but with Tim Duncan in his way at power forward, Dirk wasn’t going to make it over Melo.

If I could choose:

Eastern Conference
C: Dwight Howard
PF: Kevin Garnett
SF: LeBron James
SG: Dwyane Wade
PG: Chauncey Billups
BN(C): Rasheed Wallace
BN(F): Chris Bosh
BN(F): Caron Butler
BN(G): Jason Kidd
BN(G): Michael Redd
BN(FX): Paul Pierce
BN(FX): Shaquille O’Neal – because you shouldn’t be allowed to have an All-Star game without this guy.

Western Conference
C: Amare Stoudemire
PF: Tim Duncan
SF: Dirk Nowitzki
SG: Kobe Bryant
PG: Chris Paul
BN(C): Yao Ming
BN(F): Carlos Boozer
BN(F): Shawn Marion
BN(G): Steve Nash
BN(G): Allen Iverson
BN(FX): Brandon Roy
BN(FX): Baron Davis


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: