Pedro: Mangos Are My HGH

New York Mets pitcher Pedro Martinez is hardly shy about his ability on the mound and wants to remind people that he has always done it cleanly. Speaking with some members of the media yesterday on the opening day of spring training for pitchers and catchers, Martinez explained how he recovers from fatigue and injuries.

“I have a small frame and when I hurt all I could do was take a couple of Aleve or Advil, a cup of coffee and a little mango and an egg — and let it go!” he said.

Martinez is in the final year of a four-year, $53 million contract with the Mets, but clearly hopes to keep pitching beyond this season. Instead of ability, he referenced his health as possible reasons not to return. “It’s going to be all dictated by my health,” he said. “If I’m healthy, I still have a couple years left. … If I don’t finish as a Met, I think it’s going to be a long haul to find another team or whatever.”

The now-former #1 starter for the Mets is also very happy about the club’s acquisition of two-time Cy Young winner Johan Santana. “Ahh, I can breathe,” he said. “I’m extremely happy to have Johan here. It’s like a big glass of cold water when you’re thirsty.

Leave a Reply

